A Brief Biography of Bob Fried

Rock n' Roll Posters and their Artists

Postby Michael Erlewine » Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:50 pm

by Michael Erlewine

Bob Fried was born April 7, 1937 in Flatbush, Brooklyn, New York.

Fried was raised in a family of scholars and illustrators. His father, Henry B. Fried, was a well known clockmaker and horologist, an expert on clocks and time pieces from antiquity to the present. He authored many books, things like "The Watch Escapement" and "Bench Practices for Watch and Clockmakers." These books contained very technical drawings and Henry Fried did all of his own illustrations, but he also taught his son Bob. Even as a young person, Fried's father was training his eye. One of Bob Fried's jobs in the family was to do these very, very precise illustrations.

Unlike many of the other poster artists from the '60s, who were either self-taught or came up through doing comic illustration and pin stripping cars, Bob Fried, like Victor Moscoso, came up through formal training in commercial and fine arts. He was always sketching, and it was primarily figurative drawing and portraits. He worked in charcoal and graphite. From an early age, Bob Fried was focused on his art, and in the process of discovering what his own work might be.